Hey guys! I have a few apps on google play and get around 3000 Impressions / day (this rises steadily since my apps aren't out longer thatn two weeks).
I get more than 50 clicks a day, but those aren't payed very well (between 0.3 and 3 cents, mostly 2).
My CTR is a bit under 2%.
I this normal?
alecman said:
Hey guys! I have a few apps on google play and get around 3000 Impressions / day (this rises steadily since my apps aren't out longer thatn two weeks).
I get more than 50 clicks a day, but those aren't payed very well (between 0.3 and 3 cents, mostly 2).
My CTR is a bit under 2%.
I this normal?
Click to expand...
Click to collapse
In my apps I see that it depends for a big number of factors that I did not focus yet.
overall my app have an eCPM of 0.35$ and a CTR of 0.59%, but as I said it depends a lot. Another app I made, for example, has a lot of downloads more than Wooords, but it earns very little. I started thinking that it is due to the fact that the screen is horizontal. Others may have less clicks due to the target that download it, or because the app is a short-use app (that you keep there but use rarely for a short period of time). I really couldn't know how to understand that better.
I got the same problem too but eventually solve it. The incident made me wonder: "should I always depend on Admob?".
So I decide to combine several Ad networks. It works. And I realize something about Admob:
Pros: It is reliable and has huge users database. Admob is backed by Google - a prestigious corporation who tracks every steps of anyone who use its service.
Cons:
- Its eCPM is low (I don't know exactly why but everytime I try another Ad network, they outperform Admob in terms of eCPM. I guess that Admob know it has advantages over competitors when it comes to reputation and users database, so It charge advertisers and publishers more)
- Its ban users more frequently. (Some of my friends' accounts got banned because Google thinks they was cheating, while infact he didn't. It was very difficult for him to reach Google support to recover his accounts).
after combining Admob and with Airpush, Leadbolt, StartApp, ChartBoost, I end up with Adsota - a lesser known ad network. Adsota is an has much higher eCPM, 100% fill-rate, and swift payment. You can find it by googling "ads.appota".
Best of luck, mate!
Related
Hey Everyone,
I was asked today by a friend what my thoughts were on the Evo after two weeks of ownership, and was inspired to write up a first-hand review which I want to share with you.
What are your thoughts of the Evo after your first two weeks, what do you find to be it's strengths and weaknesses...and how would you compare it to other smart phones like the iPhone 4, Droid Incredible, and upcoming Droid X. Anyone with buyer's remorse?
Please try to keep fanboy/fangirl-ism to a minimum, if possible...as I'm really looking for unbiased feedback.
=======================
Friend's question: So how's that new phone treating you?
My thoughts:
Very good, but until it has "Froyo" 2.2 I have to bite my tongue on a final judgement.
On paper and in RL, the hardware specs are impressive.
Build quality is good (but not great) mostly due to issues I've read about with users experiencing a "glass separation" and grounding woes (resolved? as of the latest HTC firmware)... or maybe just plain separation anxiety from my G1 and a tactile keyboard...ok, bad joke. I haven't had any of the issues reported, but will say there is some minor light-leaking on the lower bezel of the phone, where the glass meets the plastic casing. Other than that, it'srock solid. No random crashes, no overheating, no dead pixels, no battery charging problems, no issues with mounting the phone to a PC or swapping the microSD card. Everything just works, as expected (which if you're shelling out 300 bucks for a phone, that's the minimum expectation). I also like the fact that there's a warranty option available for the purchase, unlike the iPhone.
The updated HTC Rosie/Sense UI is beautiful nearly flawless. Navigation is straight-forward, but I fear for a slightly older generation of users (e.g. anyone born before the 80s) it may seem too "busy" and overwhelming. HTC has done a lot to outperform Android's stock UI. Integrated multitouch (limited) for the home screen along with the Live Wallpapers integration (which are both fun and cheesy) is a pleasure to use. HTC's widgets are great (but not the best for application specific platforms like Twitter - use Seesmic instead, blows Twidroid out of the water). The HTC keyboard also blows the stock Android keyboard away.. I just wish the bloody thing integrated multi-touch interface (mostly for copy-pasting and capitalizing).
Sprint's network is impressive, but their 3G speeds seem a bit slower than my experience with T-Mobile. Until we have 4G here in FL, the jury's still out. In contrast, I also haven't had random network outages or call dropping as I was prone to with my G1 on T-Mobile. Over WiFi, YouTube and even embedded Flash videos (yes, I got the 2.1 flash pre-release) FLY like the wind and look stunning in HD. I'll also add....thanks to some savvy bargaining, my Sprint bill is 13% less than what I was paying T-Mobile. As a business, their customer service has been excellent, but it would help their sales if their sales associates had more tech knowledge. AT&T wins on that point, as their reps tend to know the iPhones inside-out, or at least talk the talk of "power users".
Camera takes great daytime photos and the recording in HD is impressive (albeit slight under-performance on frame rate capping, thanks to HTC...of course there's a hack to change that). Nighttime camera-work leaves some things to be desired (i.e. its grainy), but the built-in flash is decent and doubly effective for applications that use it as a LED flashlight.
Battery life, on the other hand, totally sucks. I'm a power user, so I frequently mass kill background apps to make phone resources available, but I still have to say there's no easy way to manage power for Android phones. I blame this on the Dalvik compiler, and I'm hoping 2.2 changes energy management....or at least gives app builders a better way to scale resource use for their applications (both background and foreground services).
Apps are still a major point of contention for me and Android...mostly because they're just not there (and are the ultimate deal breaker or maker for most Smartphone buyers). I initially blamed JAVA; but now I'm going to raise the bar and blame the often fragmented (and frustrating) Android framework and lack of developer marketing by Google AND the various carriers (which I think is just about all of 'em) selling Android-powered phones, save Verizon. You have to be a real cowboy to want to develop for Android mostly because it requires a cavalier attitude, since the code source requires a LOT of research. Apple has done a lot to enforce product standard for the iPhone apps out there, and I think it's time Google's marketplace stepped up to expect the same level of product quality. There's nothing more frustrating than downloading what one would expect to be a polished app (or even a clone for something iPhoney like Doodle jump) to find it bug ridden, unpolished or simply feel like a BETA release. This isn't to say that they all suck...but most unfortunately do. Again, hopefully the new VM will change this.
Oh, I forgot to mention Google Voice and integrated search/speech-to-text capabilities - they're amazing.
your review reads well. in the battery section, you should specify what you've tried to remedy the problem... there are tons of people, myself included, who make it through a day on heavy usage.
i have gmail push, always on data, calendar sync, and gps enabled. turned off gchat service, removed people widget, friend stream widget.
when my phone is idle i usually lost 1% every 90minute to 2 hours. and I can get 4-5 hours of heavy usage in before bar hits red.
Pardon me?!?!
"Navigation is straight-forward, but I fear for a slightly older generation of users (e.g. anyone born before the 80s) it may seem too "busy" and overwhelming."
Pre-70's here buddy... I have been playing with my 4hr old phone quite a bit already. So there.
muncheroo said:
your review reads well. in the battery section, you should specify what you've tried to remedy the problem... there are tons of people, myself included, who make it through a day on heavy usage.
i have gmail push, always on data, calendar sync, and gps enabled. turned off gchat service, removed people widget, friend stream widget.
when my phone is idle i usually lost 1% every 90minute to 2 hours. and I can get 4-5 hours of heavy usage in before bar hits red.
Click to expand...
Click to collapse
Honestly muncheroo, I haven't done much by way of battery optimization but will start working out on it once I have a relative mental benchmark for battery life as of the latest update (which by the way has amped up my phone's lifespan quite a bit).
sablesurfer said:
Pardon me?!?!
"Navigation is straight-forward, but I fear for a slightly older generation of users (e.g. anyone born before the 80s) it may seem too "busy" and overwhelming."
Pre-70's here buddy... I have been playing with my 4hr old phone quite a bit already. So there.
Click to expand...
Click to collapse
Sorry sablesurfer, no offense meant!! I actually used that anecdote after showing off my Evo to my mom and a few mature coworkers. I got the same response from everyone - "It's beautiful but has so much going on, how do you keep track of everything!?"
The irony I think, is most of the widgets are all about improving efficiency and multitasking capabilities. :]
Good write up..
I would really love to see what people define as heavy usage. I'm sorry but I'm not buying the full day on one battery with heavy usage crap.
Sent from my EVO via Tapatalk
I had a period for a few months where income from Admob banner display ads suddenly increased 3x.
The strange thing is - I changed nothing in my app. And the online user count did not change as well.
The average online user count for the app is about 500. So it's not about going from 1 clicks to 2.
If I got 100'000 impressions before, then after the raise I got 350'000 and corresponding in crease in earnings, but that all stopped after 2 months or so.
I wish I could enclose a picture, but the forum won't let me.
Anyone had experienced similar fluctuations and maybe you can tell me the possible causes?
Thank you in advance!
This is a typical day for my app (pls embed for me): i.imgur.com/z0SlUal.png
last month: i.imgur.com/NDubFOO.png
ratios: i.imgur.com/GlPW2OP.png
countries: i.imgur.com/xmsB2mG.png
This is using AdMob: banners (a lot) & interstitials (a lot) & rewarded video (once a day), most users in the United States/Europe (but I got people all over the world), 30 second refresh rate.
Also running Facebook Audience Network native ads, which are even worse - about 1/3 of what AdMob earns me. Makes no sense cause those FAN ads are super pretty and there are more of them...
70-100k eyeballs a day and can't even afford a burrito, double meat + guac being completely out of the question.... This makes me really sad. Should I just get a job? :c
Would sincerely appreciate any advice!
meatyapp said:
This is a typical day for my app (pls embed for me):
i.imgur.com/z0SlUal.png
This is using AdMob: banners (a lot) & interstitials (a lot) & rewarded video (once a day), most users in the United States/Europe (but I got people all over the world), 30 second refresh rate.
Also running Facebook Audience Network native ads, which are even worse - about 1/3 of what AdMob earns me. Makes no sense cause those FAN ads are super pretty and there are more of them...
70-100k eyeballs a day and can't even afford a burrito, double meat + guac being completely out of the question.... This makes me really sad. Should I just get a job? :c
Would sincerely appreciate any advice!
Click to expand...
Click to collapse
Hi,
It means your approximate eCPM is 9/90 = 10 cents - quite low for those geos. This being it varies by the ad formats - I would suggest scaling with rewarded videos and video ads in general. Try the usual suspects - Adcolony, Vungle, Applovin. Hope it helps
These are terrible numbers. Even banners should be higher. My guess is you are getting very poor fill rates. Check your dashboards to see what eCPM is being reported. If it's like 90 cents or something like what habrcovi said, then that's it. But if it shows numbers like $1.50 or $3 or anything higher it just means really low fill rates.
Hey,
Thats really too low. You should definitely try other platforms.
Check the eCPM calculator to know the approx sum you may earn in these geos. You can find one on Clickky's website (monetize - self-serve)
This is definitely weird - it might be poor fill rates, but I doubt that. I have 60-70% fill rates for banner ads, but they still generate good money. Interstitials over 95%.
Country ratios are same as mine so no problems here. If you had most of your users from somewhere outside the US/Europe - that would have definitely be the case.
I'm thinking either your ads aren't correctly placed or are shown at the wrong moment. Or you're using the wrong ad for your game/app. It would help a lot if you could explain what's your app about and when and what type of ads are you showing.
I'm getting about 150$ for 100k impressions, my problem is that not many users download or use my apps. The amount of impressions you make in a day = my impressions in a month.
I would look into using an ad mediation network to find something that works well for you. You should be able to see which has better fill and ecpm.
It is difficult to say which networks will perform best for each developer, so mediation is a good start.
Using Enhance®, it has never been easier to integrate 3rd party services into your project or to keep them up to date. (Ads, Mediation, Analytics, Attribution, Crash Reporting and more) With little to NO coding at all, Enhance® will have you ready to roll in a matter of minutes. No more hours of coding! No more SDK integration!
We support “NETWORK” and many other top networks, and as mentioned earlier there are other 3rd party services that Enhance® supports and offers as well.
The days of coding SDKs are gone and we want to show everyone a simple life, a life without the hassle of integrating SDKs into your Android or iOS project.
For more information on the fastest way to implement and update SDKs, follow the link : https://goo.gl/kufiQQ
Good Luck!
It is important to not evaluate only eCPM or only fill rate. If you have a high fill rate at a .10 cent eCPM, or a high eCPM (1.5-3$) at a low fill rate, you will be dissatisfied with the results. I suggest that you troubleshoot and see if something is awry. Moreover, you would benefit from diversifying your portfolio. Try out some of your inventory with some other companies and see which performs best for you. I can suggest Tappx as a quality company .
There are a lot of SDK that allow you to earn money.
I prefer Luminati SDK (luminati.io/sdk), or MonkeySocks SDK (monkeysocks.net/sdk/) - with the last one i have working long time because it easy to get started.
meatyapp said:
This is a typical day for my app (pls embed for me): i.imgur.com/z0SlUal.png
70-100k eyeballs a day and can't even afford a burrito, double meat + guac being completely out of the question.... This makes me really sad. Should I just get a job? :c
Would sincerely appreciate any advice!
Click to expand...
Click to collapse
Still can't afford a double meat burrito?
Stats like this are not normal. Especially being over 10k. impressions.
Like other members here suggested, I'd say mediation is the way to go: Appodeal, IronSource, Apploving, etc.
meatyapp said:
This is a typical day for my app (pls embed for me): i.imgur.com/z0SlUal.png
last month: i.imgur.com/NDubFOO.png
ratios: i.imgur.com/GlPW2OP.png
countries: i.imgur.com/xmsB2mG.png
This is using AdMob: banners (a lot) & interstitials (a lot) & rewarded video (once a day), most users in the United States/Europe (but I got people all over the world), 30 second refresh rate.
Also running Facebook Audience Network native ads, which are even worse - about 1/3 of what AdMob earns me. Makes no sense cause those FAN ads are super pretty and there are more of them...
70-100k eyeballs a day and can't even afford a burrito, double meat + guac being completely out of the question.... This makes me really sad. Should I just get a job? :c
Would sincerely appreciate any advice!
Click to expand...
Click to collapse
I think that the issue is that you show too many ads to your audience. If you could give us some data on your daily active users (DAU), then, probably, we would find out that it is 10-20-30 times less than the number of your daily impressions.
And, as you probably know, the more impressions - not the better
Hi All,
I use Chartboost for user acquisition and recently -- in the past 48 hours -- I've seen a huge drop-off in my impressions and ad installs -- a big enough drop that it almost looks like I turned off my advertising altogether.
Of 8 different campaigns, all but 1 had had impressions drop by over 95% in the past 2 days. One campaign seems unaffected. Some campaigns I made small changes to, but others I did not change at all during this time period.
Has anyone else seen anything similar?
Thanks!
Hey guys,
New here in the forum and I hope I am not replicating a question and if so - sorry in advance!
We're developing our first game (as a new independent brand).
It's a casual game with similar playability to Sonic Jump, which will be released on both Android as well as iOS.
The game is built in Buildbox, so I'd like to know which ad networks (with an SDK) give the best return in:
1. Loading interstitials (entry)
2. Popunders
3. Video
4. In between ads (an ad that pops every five "game overs" or so)
Naturally, if you could shed some light on both Android as well as iOS, that would be super.
Thanks!
Appydos said:
Hey guys,
New here in the forum and I hope I am not replicating a question and if so - sorry in advance!
We're developing our first game (as a new independent brand).
It's a casual game with similar playability to Sonic Jump, which will be released on both Android as well as iOS.
The game is built in Buildbox, so I'd like to know which ad networks (with an SDK) give the best return in:
1. Loading interstitials (entry)
2. Popunders
3. Video
4. In between ads (an ad that pops every five "game overs" or so)
Naturally, if you could shed some light on both Android as well as iOS, that would be super.
Thanks!
Click to expand...
Click to collapse
Hi All,
Just to shed some light on this since, I've been in the ad monetization industry for 3 years now. It does get quite complicated so I'll try to keep this brief and keep it relevant to the question. One thing to understand is, the better the engagement, the higher the ad revenue. I.e Advertisers spend money to advertise, to acquire new customers. If your app or specific ad format is producing that desired result, you're going to make good revenue.
The ad formats that produce the best results in order:
1. Offer-wall (Incentivise users to install app for in-app reward. You've helped the advertiser acquire a new user)
2. Rewarded video (Incentive users to watch a video in return for in-app reward. You've helped the advertiser view a full length video which does produce good conversions but not definitely)
3. Video interstitial (Full screen Video that pops up in the users journey of the app. Skippable and does produce results, but no where as much as rewarded video)
4. Static interstitial (Full screen ad that pops up in the users journey. Can use good engagement, but sometimes can be accidental, leading to a high bounce rate)
5. Native (Non-intrusive and user-friendly ads that have the same look and feel of the content of the page. Some consider as best looking ads, especially for article/news publications. Can pay on CPM/CPI depends on the network and campaign)
6. Banners (Sits at the bottom of the page. Low user engagement. But great if you have a huge user base)
It is always best to find a balance between ad monetization and User experience. Because 1. You want to keep your users and 2. You want to make the highest revenue possible. I've seen cases where publishers have an amazing app, but have completely ruined it by bombarding their users with ads, and other cases where an app is again amazing with a great user base, but has not been updated for improved services because the developer did not have the funds.
For a gaming app like Sonic Jump, I would heavily consider rewarded video formats as a number 1. Depending on the game play, maybe throw in some interstitial/video interstitial in between levels.
If you want I can take a look at the app and offer some suggestions. I work with many ad networks and categories of publishers so I can give insight to a thing or two
Peace,
Thelap